Barbara Moorhouse appointed Non-Executive Director and Chair-Designate of the Quality and Safety Committee of the Board of Glas Cymru

12 January 2023

Glas Cymru, the not-for-profit company which owns Welsh Water, has today announced that Barbara Moorhouse will join the Board as a Non-Executive Director with effect from 16th January 2023. This appointment has been made ahead of the planned retirement as a Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Quality and Safety Committee in July 2023 of Graham Edwards, whom it is intended she will succeed in that role.

Barbara has extensive leadership experience across the private, public and regulated sectors. She is Chair of Agility Trains Group, the privately owned train services company. Barbara is also Senior Independent Director and Chair of the Remuneration Committee at Aptitude Software Group plc, Non-Executive Director at Balfour Beatty plc, and Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee at Medica Group plc.

During her business career, Barbara has held a range of strategic, commercial and finance appointments. She was Chair of the Rail Safety and Standards Board, Director General at the Ministry of Justice and the Department for Transport, Group Finance Director at Kewill Systems plc and Morgan Sindall plc. She was Regulatory Director at South West Water plc in the post privatisation period.

Alastair Lyons, Chair of Glas Cymru, said: “I am delighted that Barbara is joining the Glas Cymru Board. Her breadth of Board experience and her understanding of the water sector make her ideally placed to succeed Graham Edwards as Chair of our Quality and Safety Committee.”

Barbara Moorhouse said: “I am very pleased to be able to bring my experience to the Board of Glas Cymru as it develops its next five-year business plan to submit to Ofwat later this year. I look forward to re-joining the water industry at this important time in the debate as to the water quality and environmental standards for the future.”